From a fellow poet…

Inscribed

My heart I place

Within its cage

Of ivory bone

 

Its tender loves

Its pain, its rage

Are never shown.

 

I fold my skin

Over the bars

And sew it closed

 

And none can know

The inward wars

Kept there enclosed.

 

A chain mail shirt

So strong, so cold

Upon my skin

 

Is next to come

Is next to hold

The heart within.

 

I place a plate

Of iron stron

Upon my breast

 

And none can touch

–no sword, no prong–

Can pierce my chest.

 

I fold my hands

Over these walls

And swear my oaths

 

That blood shall spill

Before one falls

My heart unclothes.

 

Invulnerable am I to offense

Insuperable is my fence

Impenetrable my defence.

 

But all I do

One word from you

You cut right through.

View original post

Leave a Reply

