Atacama travel diary – Part II

In the morning, I finally found myself face to face with the high altitude desert of Atacama, slowly crossing it, climbing and descending its slopes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At first, the desert would not hesitate to demand all of my strength, to challenge me to keep going in spite of my lungs, my human limitations. And so I did… and eventually I settled in… gained Atacama’s respect.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was then that the Chilean giant softened right before my eyes, while seducing me with its powers… enchanting me with the scarce native life that had blossomed after the unexpected passing visit of an autumn shower not too long earlier.

???????????????????????????????

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Immersed in the Desert’s raw, brutal immensity, just as we arrived at the ‘Valle de la Muerte’, it dawned on me just how alive I felt, present and connected, embedded into the untamed greatness that is nature… and I recognized that emotion. I was home…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4 thoughts on “Atacama travel diary – Part II

  1. Dear Flavia Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and that beautiful poetry about the high altitude desert of Atacama ,Chile with me.Due to the very recent photos attached one feels,like one is present in those places and is in contact with nature. Anyhow God bless you and continue the good work. With Kind Regards Engr.Anwar H.Mujahid  

  2. Nothing like a challenge to make one feel alive! looks fabulous, and makes demands of both body and mind! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

