Strange Day – New Version… your thoughts?

My dear readers,
Here’s a poem from my 2010 book, Life in Rhymes. I’ve been playing with it and ended up making some revisions. Which version do you like best? I’d love to hear your opinion!

the original

Strange Day

and the new version

What a strange day – poetry
keeps pouring out of me.
All those emotions
I had long foregone,
in the name of a normal,
sometimes tedious, life –
or maybe just serene…
all those feelings
come flooding in…
and I embrace them.
On this day,
to them, I surrender,
like a hopeless lover.
Here I am,
finding the courage to dive
deep into my own tears,
a mighty river
where words roam free.
No boundaries, no attachments –
just the poet,
the strange aerious poet
living in me.

4 thoughts on “Strange Day – New Version… your thoughts?

  1. Dear Flavia,

    Thank you for your poem. I find both poems very good. Have a slight preference for the new version.

    I wonder whether your offer to speak at the conferewnce in Xi’an was accepted by the organizers.

    With kind regards,

    Johan.

    2015-05-09 2:41 GMT+02:00 Life in Rhymes / Vida em Versos :

    > Flavia Rocha Loures – Poeta posted: “My dear readers, Here’s a poem > from my 2010 book, Life in Rhymes. I’ve been playing with it and ended up > making some revisions. Which version do you like best? I’d love to hear > your opinion! the original and the new version What a strange day – poetry > ke”

  2. Wow, so much more hopeful five years later! That’s encouraging! Hope all is well with you. Thanks for keeping me on your list. Un beso, Finn

Leave a Reply

